The Alexander House

The Alexanders were a prominent family in the early history of Monongahela. Joseph Alexander came to Williamsport (Monongahela) in 1828 and started his career as a Merchant. He also founded the first bank in Monongahela. Click here for more information about the Alexander Family.

Here is a home that was owned by a member of the Alexander family on Meade Street circa 1908:

anderson.house

(click here to view a larger image)

This is what the house looks like in 2008:

alexander house 2008

(click here to view larger image)

Side view:

alexander house side

(click here for larger image)

Notice how rough the street was back in 1908. The house looks surprisingly the similar in both pictures. There are several major differences though. Look closely and leave a comment letting me know what differences you see!

Click here to view a satellite image of the Alexander House

16 thoughts on “The Alexander House

  1. Hammer November 13, 2008 / 10:25 am

    Well the first thing I noticed was that the chimneys were modernized… the brickwork has been re-done and lowered (on the house and the front of the yard) and I also noticed the deck is gone…

    Like

  2. Jack December 3, 2008 / 8:16 pm

    … the steps on the Howard Street side have been removed …

    Like

  3. Janet February 20, 2009 / 1:26 pm

    2nd floor balcony has been enclosed and the bick wall on the porch has been removed.

    Like

  4. Dan T. February 20, 2009 / 3:58 pm

    I guess that they removed the balustrade (railing over the porch) when they added what looks like a bathroom. It also looks like they added a sloped roof over 1st floor bump outs and porch.

    Thanks for commenting. It lets me know somebody actually reads this thing.

    Like

  5. Chris March 5, 2009 / 11:49 am

    I am pretty sure Mr. Alexander owned the Monongahela City Trust building down on Main st, and that when the great depression happened, he committed suicide in that house. These are the things i’ve heard of course, but I don’t know if I can prove them. Will have to go to the library and look at their records. 🙂 More recently, the house was an old folks home.

    Like

  6. Jack Anders May 5, 2009 / 7:28 am

    I lived in this house as a child…as did my grandmother, a cousin of my mom’s, and one of my aunts and uncles and their family. We lived in an apartment on the third floor…so did my mom’s cousin. These apartments were accessible from the stairs around the back. The aunt and uncle and their family lived in the downstairs apartment accessible from the entrance around back adjacent to the stairs. My grandmother lived in the front of the house. I remember playing on the porch facing Marne Ave.(?). The wall at the sidewalk was in better shape then. Thanks for posting these pics.

    Like

  7. Jack Anders May 5, 2009 / 7:29 am

    Oops. That’s Howard Street, not Marne Ave.

    Like

  8. Lisa June 27, 2009 / 5:50 pm

    They put in the handicapped accessible ramp when it was a old folks home.
    Did someone finally buy this house? It was almost in disrepair when I was last in it. Aimee did wrong by this great old house!

    Like

  9. darksim905 May 18, 2010 / 1:28 pm

    Will try to keep you or the OP updated with new pics of this house when I get inside to take photos.

    Like

  10. CHARLES DOWNER May 22, 2010 / 11:24 pm

    I WAS RAISED IN NEW EAGLE AND WAS SHOWED A PIC OF THE MONONGEHELA RIVER FROZEN OVER WITH A BARGE AND TUG BOAT AND PEOPLE PARTYING N ICE SKATING ON IT ID LOVE TO FIND THIS PICTURE AGAIN AND ANY OTHER OF OLD MONONGEHELA PA

    Like

  11. Shawn June 16, 2010 / 8:15 pm

    I just bought this house. if anyone has any old pictures or any info on this house please share.
    Thanks

    Like

  12. marcy hefner. September 18, 2010 / 6:53 pm

    i lived in the house next to it on the bottom floor (the long grey brick house u cant see too too well).my cousin georgeanne owned it at the time n still does. i remember wen they actually had elders living there. n i remember playing there n getting lost all the time, n getting yelled at because i was curious as a child. I cant remember what the man’s name was who owned it. But him, his wife n two kids lived there. elizabeth n tyler. I think the dads name was norm. not totally sure though. I remember him telling me about how a man who owned the house a long time ago threw a party n lost his wife over it. supposedly he hung himself in the basement. i never went into the basement again! lol.

    Like

  13. Betsy Coleman Katko July 18, 2011 / 6:51 am

    I lived acrossthe street on Howard Street and I was told that our house had been built for a member of the Alexander family also. My cousin Mike McCurdy and his Mother and Father, Helene and “YI” McCurdy lived in the 2nd floor apt. of the Alexander Home. There was a fire there when we were children and I think after that the house was made into several other apts. The McCurdys moved to another old house that was made into apts a little further up on Meade Street—the Larimer home.

    Like

  14. Benjamin Fisher January 2, 2012 / 6:02 pm

    My uncle recently purchased the City Trust bank building on Main St. It is completely gutted and everything of any value was already removed prior to us purchasing. The architecture is great and there are many large rooms with high ceilings. We will be putting a roof on this building this year as water has been been leaking in for years. All the original plaster has to be removed and the floors need redone. Does anyone have any more historical info on this building? I have heard a number of stories so far.

    Like

  15. DanT January 4, 2012 / 4:12 pm

    Ben – I would try to get in contact the Monongahela Area Historical society for more on the history of the building. Here is a link to their website:

    http://www.monongahelahistoricalsociety.com/

    I’ve got some stuff on my computer about the Trust building and will try to post something soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

