Light-Up Night Photograph, November 1954 – Need Help With Identification

Light-Up Night, Thanksgiving 1954
Light-Up Night, Thanksgiving 1954

We found this picture down at the Monongahela Historical Society Museum. It’s a photo taken November 1954 of Bill Polaski (with the pole) turning on the power for one of the Christmas decorations on Main Street in Monongahela. We would like your help identifying the other people in the photograph.

monongahela_christmas_star_1954_cropped
Christmas 1954. Click image to enlarge.

I heard that one of the other people in the photograph is Al Ferrara.

There is a really neat story about the locally made Christmas star decorations that used to grace Main Street which I will post sometime around Christmas 2013. So how about emailing this photo to friends who may be able to identify these folks or share it on your Facebook page. Let me know what you find!

8 thoughts on “Light-Up Night Photograph, November 1954 – Need Help With Identification

  1. paula pizzica anderson May 12, 2013 / 8:27 pm

    gentleman in dark coat and hat looks like Rudy Polaski

    Like

  2. DanT May 12, 2013 / 9:34 pm

    Thanks Paula! I just spoke to my mom and she said your mother probably would know several of the people. My mom thinks that is Rudy with the dark coat too. They think the guy on the far right is Harry (Yi) McCurdy (football coach).

    Like

  3. Ange Ripepi May 13, 2013 / 8:23 am

    I agree with Paula and I’m sure the one on the right is Harry McCurdy a former football coach at MHS. He was my coach also.

    Like

  4. Margaret Thomas May 13, 2013 / 8:35 am

    The man second from the left is Chuck Brady.

    Like

  5. Brad Beall May 13, 2013 / 8:52 am

    At “only” 52 years old, I’m a bit too young to recognize any of the people in the photo. However, I can remember when Christmas decorations were not displayed before Thanksgiving. This photo showing the Christmas lights being switched on – on Thanksgiving Day (not before) makes me long for the days when Christmas wasn’t so commercialized.

    Like

  6. Jean Fazzini May 13, 2013 / 8:54 am

    This was the last one, sorry

    Lank

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

  7. Joe and Joetta Bernhard May 13, 2013 / 1:30 pm

    I think the names were Pulaski and Ferrari – your vowels might be incorrect, unless that is what the Daily Republican printed.  I’m passing this on to a few friends. Joetta Bidzila Bernhard

    Like

  8. Amy Polaski Spernak December 2, 2013 / 8:06 pm

    Bill Polaski is my father and indeed that is Uncle Rudy in the dark coat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

