Big Accident On Chess Street, Monongahela PA

I live along Chess Street and was sitting at my desk when I heard a car blow through the intersection at an extremely high rate of speed. About one minute later I heard the fire whistle blow and intuitively knew that the vehicle had collided with something. I clicked on the internet scanner and sure enough the police and firemen were responding to the accident on Second Street, Monongahela.  Click on the images below for a larger view.

I’ve been searching the newspapers for information about the accident but have found nothing. Isn’t our police department supposed to report these kind of things to the local newspapers for the “police blotter” sections? Leave a comment if you have any more information. I’d be curious to hear more details. (leave a comment!)

8 thoughts on “Big Accident On Chess Street, Monongahela PA

  1. Mrs.B March 9, 2014 / 2:40 am

    They usually do report on the accidents and put them in the paper but usually only if they have enough room in a column and no the police do not have to report every incident to the paper.

    Like

  2. Robert Roule March 9, 2014 / 11:34 am

    Newspapers today usually limit their coverage to accidents involving fatalities or of some spectacular nature. The Daily Republican, if it were still being published, would have had some mention of the crash.

    Like

  3. Louis Mangino March 9, 2014 / 12:06 pm

    The speeds people drive at in the city of monongahela are crazy,I had somebody tale gate me through town with high beams last night coming from church at seven pm. I was going thirty mph!! If I didn’t have my family in the car it would of been a little different situation for sure. I really think they need to start addressing agressive driving and the speeding in town.

    Like

  4. DanT March 9, 2014 / 1:27 pm

    @robert roule & @mrsB – thanks. There doesn’t seem to be much coverage about Monongahela events in the papers anymore. That’s why I ran up and took some photographs to post here. It’s a little off topic for this blog but I figured people would be interested in what all the commotion was about.

    @louis – glad to hear from you! Yeah, I agree. You’ld be amazed how many people blast through the stop signs on 5th Street at night. I’m half tempted to set up a security cam and let it run all night and post the videos online somewhere. People wouldn’t believe it.

    Like

  5. Robert Roule March 9, 2014 / 3:14 pm

    Don’t blame the Valley Independent for not covering every detail of life in Monongahela. It has a lot of communities to cover and its editor has to set some parameters on news coverage. There are a lot of reasons why newspapers are dying: big box stores, the demise of the industries and mines which people depended on for their livelihood and people not reading today like folks did in the 1950s and 60s.

    I’m happy that I grew up in Monongahela and that I did some work at The Daily Republican. Floyd France was a great editor and I learned a lot from him which I used in later life.

    Some folks think social media will replace journalists and their newspapers. I think they are wrong.

    Like

  6. DanT March 9, 2014 / 3:45 pm

    You should add to the list Craigslist which decimated the want ad revenue of newspapers. It’s a shame the newspaper industry couldn’t evolve and recognize what was happening until it was too late.

    In your opinion, which paper does a better job reporting on Monongahela area news, The Observer Reporter or Valley Independent?

    Like

  7. mr noone March 10, 2014 / 7:25 am

    police chase ending with a crash and later the suspect being apprehended

    Like

  8. Steve Marticyzk July 26, 2014 / 8:42 pm

    Good point Louis. People is driving to fast in momongahela. I was coming home from sheets and people were on my tail. This is crazy high beems and all.

    Like

Comments are closed.