Intersection of Park Ave. (Rt 481) and Main St.

Intersection of Main St. and Park Ave. circa 1980
Intersection of Main St. and Park Ave. circa 1980
Intersection of Main St. and Park Ave. Monongahela PA today
Intersection of Main St. and Park Ave. Monongahela PA today

I am guessing first photo was taken around 1980. What do you think? From left to right you can see the Hotel Main, Bidzilla’s Market and the Turners building.

I used to work at Bidzilla’s Market when I was in high school (although at that time it was called Jerry’s Market) I remember this area used to be pretty run down. It is in a flood zone so it would have been petty expensive to get a mortgage and pay flood insurance premiums.

Do you have any memories or pictures of this area of town?

10 thoughts on “Intersection of Park Ave. (Rt 481) and Main St.

  1. Susan Bowers July 15, 2009 / 7:04 pm

    I was born and lived in the small white house next to Turners and two doors down from Bidzila’s until I was 29 years old. Yes, it was a fglood zone but it was a wonderful block to live on in the 1050’s and 60’s. St. Anthony’s Playground provided all the fun anf friends we needed and the only grocery store to shop from was Bidzila’s. After my parents’ deaths, my sister and I sold our property to Sheetz after we tore the house down. All the wonderful buildings and businesses are now gone but my memories will always remain. …Susan ” Corbelli” Bowers.

    Like

  2. Dan T. July 15, 2009 / 8:09 pm

    Thanks for the response Susan. I hope you didn’t take offense at my comment about the area being “run down”. I was referring more to the Hotel Main and Vickers Garage (I think Vickers was vacant at the time).

    Do you have any old pictures of this neighborhood you would be willing to share? I’d be curious because I can’t find any showing what was on the south side of main street. This is a really old part of town and I would be interested in learning more about it.

    Like

  3. Art July 26, 2009 / 5:18 pm

    FWIW: I also remember Vicker’s garage, but my mother (who’s 91 now in Arizona but was raised in Mon City) thinks that it was Keenan’s at one time — and also that the market was known as Cristina’s. I believe that your first picture was taken from the gasoline station once owned and/or operated by one Harry Tucker in about the late 1950s.

    Like

  4. Lisa Kalenic December 20, 2009 / 3:36 pm

    I remember stopping at Bidzila’s evening with my aunt after mass. Also, my brother Patrick had worked at St. Anthony’s playground in the summers & he always took me down there with him! Wonderful memories.

    Like

  5. Joetta Bidzila Bernhard December 26, 2010 / 3:56 pm

    Dan, you have the spelling wrong – it was Bidzila Brothers Market. My Dad was John Bidzila, and he and my uncle Mickey ran the place. Jerry bought the store from my Dad and my Uncle. They then bought the old Hotel Main. After my father passed away in 1986, my Uncle sold the building (hotel) to Chuck Lengyl. Great to see the picture – I have no other pictures of the store. My cousin, Geraldine Bidzila Nicholson, who lives up on Maple Drive, may have some additional pictures, as she and her family lived above the store when we were kids. Thanks for the memories.

    Like

  6. michele thomas February 9, 2011 / 2:18 am

    my grandfather and grandmother lived upstairs of the bidzila grocery store with his mother mary biro bidzila… my mommy geraldine bidzila nicholson lived there until she was 16 yrs old and she has very fond memories of living there… I remember the store in my childhood and long to see the store still standing.. when i look at sheetz now i can still see the store and see u hooo’s house and carbelli’s and turners and uncle micki’s hotel main … it is to bad that my daughters can’t see what i see when i look at that block… just not the same… gerry misses it toooo!!!!!!!!

    Like

  7. Bill Bonacci March 26, 2011 / 12:52 pm

    The photo was taken where the Sunco station once stood and, Keenan’s
    was a General Motors dealership. My grandparents lived at the top of
    the hill on Chess St. I can remember the summers I spent swimming at St Anthony’s and playing on the playground.

    Like

  8. kenneth Breakiron November 9, 2011 / 7:35 pm

    Only good thoughts about this intersection. I remember the Gulf gas station on the corner.
    Remember playing bocce at St. Anthony’s with friends. The great kick ball games along with dodgeball games. Of course the kids today can’t play without helmets knee pads & mouth pieces. It also might have some effect on their emotions. They will never experience the fun we had.

    Like

  9. Susan Corbelli Bowers January 28, 2016 / 9:28 am

    It was my errand every day to go to Bidzila’s grocery store and get a loaf of New Eagle Bakery Italian Bread which they saved for us with a list from my mother for other items we needed for that day. I can still describe in detail what was in the aisles, the neat coumter, the register, Mackey and John, the owners and butchers with their white aprons on, and so much more. We lived in between Turners and Mr. Namie’s candy store.,which is another wonderful story in itself. Bidzila’s was next to Namie’s. We lived in a duplex and on the right side next to Namie’s candy store was Joe Mancuso’s shoemaker’sshop. He was married to my mother’s cousin Carnelian Affinito. What an interesting and great block! I wouldn’t have traded it for anything in the world! Oh and the stories about St.Anthony’s Playground, the church, and school are endless!…Keenie’s Garage ( I remember it as Vickers Chevrolet )…Ronny Miller and the Gulf Station, Tuckers, Ralph’s Meat Market, Bonachi’s Hill…on and on…someday I might even write about all the wonderful memories!

    Like

  10. Susan Corbelli Bowers January 28, 2016 / 9:32 am

    so sorry about spellcheck…didn’t catch the mistakes…it is Mickey Bidzila and Carmella Affinito

    Like

Leave a Reply

